Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio Grande do Sul







Fulbright to bring US Neuroscience scholar to PUCRS

University selected for Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience

13/08/2019 - 10h25
fullbright, convênio, reitoria, evilázio teixeira, carla bonan, jorge audy

Representatives met at the President’s Office’s Noble Hall | Photo: Camila Cunha

PUCRS and Fulbright, an international organization associated with the governments of Brazil and the United States, have signed a memorandum of understanding for the Fulbright Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience. The initiative aims to support US scholars affiliated to American institutions to teach and do research in Neuroscience at PUCRS. The institution’s highest-ranking PhD programs are eligible for the chair.

The ceremony was held on Aug 6 at the Noble Hall of the President’s Office of PUCRS, in the presence of the President Br. Evilázio Texeira, the Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies, Dr Carla Bonan, the Director of Graduate Studies Dr Christian Kristensen and the Superintendent of Innovation and Development, Dr Jorge Audy. Fulbright was represented by Executive Director Luiz Valcov Loureiro and Fulbright Program Specialist Luis Pedroso.

The way Bonan sees it, the initiative is mostly intended to strengthen the relations between Brazilian and US researchers and scholars. This will eventually foster cooperation initiatives that will continue after the researcher’s visit. The fellowship granted to PUCRS must be awarded from Jul 2020 to Mar 2021. Applicants should go to the Fulbright website, to find out more about the application process.

About the Chair

The prestigious Fulbright Chair in Neuroscience will select a scholar in a US teaching and research institution to come to Brazil to do research and teach at graduate programs in neuroscience at PUCRS. Applicants will have a PhD – or equivalent – for at least 10 years and a recognized academic background. Successful candidates will receive an award of $ 26,000 for a 4-month period (which can be divided into two 2-month periods) from Jul 1, 2020 to Sept 30, 2021.